Beginners Night at Jazzbourne

THURSDAY BEGINNER-FRIENDLY SWING DANCE NIGHT

Learn the happiest dance on earth!

Please read our Covid-19 Safety page for our current procedures and to find out the ways we are keeping our students & staff safe. 

Our Thursday Beginners Night is an evening of adult swing dance classes followed by time to socialise and practice with beginner-friendly music. Beginners Night is held at Jazzbourne in SE14.

Come learn the original swing dance – the Lindy Hop – from the 1930s and 40s. It’s the happiest dance on earth! The evening is run by world-renowned swing teacher Sharon Davis. Expect a fun and relaxed atmosphere, groovy location and inspiring classes.

There are two learning options: our intensive 12-week Swing Dance Beginners course (booking required) or a free 30-minute taster class.

Learn to Lindy Hop

Evening Schedule

6.00pm-7.00pm Doors open 6pm. Come have a drink and warm up before class!
7.00pm-8.30pm Swing Dance Beginners Course (12-week intensive £185, booking required)
8.30pm-9.00pm 30-minute swing dance Taster Class for absolute beginners (free! no booking needed)
9.00pm-11.00pm Beginner-friendly social dancing & practice time (free! no booking needed)

 

Lindy Hoppers

Dates

Beginners Night is held every Thursday during our terms. Here are our 2022 term dates (click the + sign to see the exact list of dates)

Spring Term: 2 January – 2 April (Spring Half Term Break 13-19 February)

Thursday 6 January 2022
Thursday 13 January 2022
Thursday 20 January 2022
Thursday 27 January 2022
Thursday 3 February 2022
Thursday 10 February 2022

(Half-term Break:  no session on Thursday 17 February 2022)

Thursday 24 February 2022
Thursday 3 March 2022
Thursday 10 March 2022
Thursday 17 March 2022
Thursday 24 March 2022
Thursday 31 March 2022

Summer Term : 17 April – 16 July (Summer Half Term Break 12–18 June)

Thursday 21 April 2022
Thursday 28 April 2022
Thursday 5 May 2022
Thursday 12 May 2022
Thursday 19 May 2022
Thursday 26 May 2022
Thursday 2 June 2022
Thursday 9 June 2022

(Mid-term break: no session on Thursday 16 June 2022)

Thursday 23 June 2022
Thursday 30 June 2022
Thursday 7 July 2022
Thursday 14 July 2022

Winter Term: 11 Sept – 10 Dec (Winter Half Term Break 23-29 October)

Thursday 15 September 2022
Thursday 22 September 2022
Thursday 29 September 2022
Thursday 6 October 2022
Thursday 13 October 2022
Thursday 20 October 2022

(Half-term Break: no session on Thursday 27 October 2022)

Thursday 3 November 2022
Thursday 10 November 2022
Thursday 17 November 2022
Thursday 24 November 2022
Thursday 1 December 2022
Thursday 8 December 2022

Lindy Hop Classes
Jazzbourne Location Map

Location

Address: Jazzbourne, 443 New Cross Road, London SE14 6TA

On arrival: venue doors open from 6pm. Come early and have a drink before class!

Closest tube stations: New Cross, Deptford Bridge, Deptford, New Cross Gate.

For more information on visiting the venue Jazzbourne, including transport & accessibility, check out their website here.

Prices

The 12-week Swing Dance Beginners Course costs £185 and must be booked.

Booking is needed for the course, but the 30-minute taster class and social are free and no booking is needed, you can just show up!

FYI, Jazzbourne is a cashless venue. The bar only accepts card and contactless payments.

Payments accepted

Learn to Lindy Hop

Frequently Asked Questions

What's the difference between the 12-week course and the Taster Class?

The Taster Class – it’s free, flexible and fun! No booking needed, no partner needed, no experience needed. You can just show up to any Taster Class at our Beginners Night, anytime. Take one to try it out, or come every week. Taster classes are about quickly learning just a few simple steps, with more focus on fun than technique. You’ll get just enough – a taste – to be able to jump on the social dancefloor and have a boogie. But by their nature you will not learn as much nor as quickly as you will in a full-length class or in our 12-week course.

The course is a progressive, structured and intensive program. You’ll learn both roles – how to be the leader and the follower – in the course. You’ll meet the same students in class every week, which is a great way to make friends. It also means we can make the material progressive and move faster. The course has luxurious 90-minute long classes, for lots of material and lots of practice time. In the course we also send you a weekly email with supporting videos and other resources, plus you get a course handbook with lots of helpful information, and there’s a mid-course presentation on swing dance history too. So the course has a lot of extra value packed into it!

What should I wear/bring?

Smart casual is fine! Just wear comfortable clothes that allow for unrestricted movement.  Many students are in casual jeans-and-a-T-shirt (or similar), some like to get into the 1930s/1940s spirit in vintage style. 

Swing dancers usually wear flat, closed shoes (like Oxfords, tennis shoes or plimsolls). Please no high heels or shoes that will scratch or mark the dancefloor. You can definitely dance happily in street shoes, but most dancers eventually like to buy leather- or suede-soled dance shoes. Advice on swing shoes is given in the first class of the 12-week course.

Bring a bottle of water.  Please bring minimal possessions as the cloakroom may not be operating and it is a small venue.

What should I expect in the Taster Class?

At the start of the Taster Class your teacher will ask you to choose a dance role for the class – either leader or follower. Then leaders will be partnered with followers, and you will change partners every few minutes. So you will get to dance with everyone in the opposite role, by the end of the class! You will learn how to hold your partner, how to dance in rhythm, and a few dance steps to get you started.

We know everyone’s nervous taking their first swing dance lesson (we sure were!), so your teacher will make sure there’s plenty of laughs, not too much information, and lots of opportunity to meet your fellow classmates. Afterwards there will be beginner-friendly swing music playing for a few more hours, so if you want to stick around and try out your new moves, you can. Or just have a drink in the lovely venue and chat with your fellow newbies!

Can I take a class with my partner/date/buddy/mum and dance just with them for the whole class? We don't want to change partners.

Yes! If you would like to attend with a particular partner and not rotate/change partners in class, that is absolutely fine! Please just speak to the teacher before class and they will get you situated in the room where you are comfortable and won’t disrupt the partner-rotation flow for the rest of the class.

What time should I arrive if I just want to social dance?

Arrive at 9pm for social dance time. Last drinks will be served by the bar at 10.30pm, and the venue closes at 11pm.

What time should I arrive for the Taster Class?

We recommend arriving 10-15 minutes early, to check-in and get settled before the Taster Class starts at 8.30pm.