Jazz Roots

DROP-IN CLASS, 8.30PM TUESDAYS

Study the roots of jazz dance! Learn classic routines from the 1920s to 1950s with jazz dance historian Sharon Davis.

Please read our Covid-19 Safety page for our current procedures and to find out the ways we are keeping our students & staff safe. 

Study the roots of jazz dance! This is a weekly drop-in class with solo jazz champion & historian Sharon Davis. Learn legendary jazz dance steps and classic routines from the 1920s to 1950s. See lesson plans below for class topics by date. 

When: 8.30pm-9.30pm every Tuesday during term. Here are our 2022 term dates (click the + sign to see the exact list of dates):

Spring Term: 2 January – 2 April (Spring Half Term Break 13-19 February)

Tuesday 4 January 2022
Tuesday 11 January 2022
Tuesday 18 January 2022
Tuesday 25 January 2022
Tuesday 1 February 2022
Tuesday 8 February 2022

(Half-term Break:  no session on Tuesday 15 February 2022)

Tuesday 22 February 2022
Tuesday 1 March 2022
Tuesday 8 March 2022
Tuesday 15 March 2022
Tuesday 22 March 2022
Tuesday 29 March 2022

Summer Term : 17 April – 16 July (Summer Half Term Break 12–18 June)

Tuesday 19 April 2022
Tuesday 26 April 2022
Tuesday 3 May 2022
Tuesday 10 May 2022
Tuesday 17 May 2022
Tuesday 24 May 2022
Tuesday 31 May 2022
Tuesday 7 June 2022

(Mid-term Break:  no session on Tuesday 14 June 2022)

Tuesday 21 June 2022
Tuesday 28 June 2022
Tuesday 5 July 2022
Tuesday 12 July 2022

Winter Term: 11 Sept – 10 Dec (Winter Half Term Break 23-29 October)

Tuesday 13 September 2022
Tuesday 20 September 2022
Tuesday 27 September 2022
Tuesday 4 October 2022
Tuesday 11 October 2022
Tuesday 18 October 2022

(Half-term Break:  no session on Tuesday 25 October 2022)

Tuesday 1 November 2022
Tuesday 8 November 2022
Tuesday 15 November 2022
Tuesday 22 November 2022
Tuesday 29 November2022
Tuesday 6 December 2022

What is this class about?
In each class you will learn a segment of authentic choreography, as seen in a vintage film or passed down to us by the great legends of jazz dance. Scroll to the bottom of the page to see the class topics by date.

Note: These are solo jazz classes, not tap dance classes. Sometimes we work on steps by famous tap dancers, but we learn the jazz version (as is swing tradition). Tap shoes are never required in this class.

What is the level? This is generally a level 1.5 to level 2 class. The Shim Sham is the easiest and most important jazz routine, so we start every term with it. All the other routines will be more difficult than the Shim Sham, and a few are very advanced.  We recommend you check the lesson plan (at the bottom of this page) before booking, to check the level.

For all classes you should already know your classic jazz steps and 1920s Charleston fundamentals. For many classes it will be helpful to be very comfortable with the Shim Sham routine.

(If you’re not sure you’re advanced enough for this class, but want to give it a go anyway, that’s fine with us. We love brave and ambitious students! We recommend you stay in the back row so you can follow the other dancers, and not slow down the class progress. No worries!)

    Is this a drop-in class or a course? This is a drop-in class, so you can start anytime and drop in when you like. Some choreographies are covered over multiple classes, but each week focuses on a distinct segment of the choreography, so you don’t need to attend them all and it doesn’t matter if you missed the previous week. For example, if we are teaching the second chorus of a routine, it doesn’t matter if you don’t know the first chorus. You are welcome to just drop in to classes whenever you like. You don’t need to take these classes in any particular order and it’s no problem if you miss a week.

    Jazzbourne Location Map

    Location

    Address: Jazzbourne, 443 New Cross Road, London SE14 6TA

    On arrival: venue doors open from 6pm. Come early and have a drink before the classes!

    Closest tube stations: New Cross, Deptford Bridge, Deptford, New Cross Gate.

    For more information on visiting the venue Jazzbourne, check out their website here.

    Online Prices

    We encourage you to book online to secure your place and help us know how many people to expect. Classes booked online cost:

    £15 per class

    Special Deal: there are 12 Jazz Roots classes per term. If you book all 12 Jazz Roots classes in a term, in one online booking, the price drops to £120 (that’s just £10 per class!)

    Prices at the Door

    Booking is not essential, walk-ins are very welcome (if we’re not full up).

    At the door the price is £15 per class, or discounted to £12.50 per class if you take both that evening (ie: £25 for two classes).

    We are cashless, so card and contactless payments only please. Sorry, we can’t accept cash.

    Payments accepted

    2022 Lesson Plans

    Jazz Roots 2022 Lesson Schedule